ELEM/GEN: News and Conference Review


We recently had the opportunity to “sharpen our saws.” I hope you enjoyed the sessions from our wonderful presenters at the recent AMEA Professional Development Conference. Our featured clinician, Jim Solomon, brought many tried and true strategies for drumming and elementary music education, while Laura Butler and Janet Nelson helped us to expand our thinking with music games that enhance literacy. Reading sessions by Lea Hoppe and singing rounds with Deanna Bell filled our hearts as we participated in making great music. We experienced and were inspired by an amazing performance from Hillcrest Elementary’s Choir, In Harmony, directed by Sarah McLendon. From the youngest (Dr. Julie Bannerman-Preschool Music) to the oldest (Dr. Rob Lyda and Dr. Becky Halliday- Creating Musical Communities) there was something for everyone to enjoy and learn from. Most importantly, it was a time for you to renew your spirit and connect with other music educators who understand what you do and why you do it.

I would like to thank our amazing Alabama Music Educators Association Elementary Board for their hard work. Their teamwork and dedication is second to none! Thank you for your help in presenting a wonderful conference. In case you were not able to attend the conference, you may still view handouts and board meeting minutes through the Guidebook app and this link https://tinyurl.com/AMEAJan2020, respectively. District reports are also available through the link above. In case you don’t know what district you are located in, the District Chairs and Co- Chairs are by county as follows:

District I – Colbert, Cullman, Franklin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Morgan, and Winston

District 2 – Bibb, Fayette, Greene, Lamar, Marion, Pickens, Shelby, Tuscaloosa, and Walker

District 3 – Jefferson

District 4 – Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, Cleburne, DeKalb, Etowah, Marshall, St. Clair

District 5 – Chambers, Clay, Coosa, Elmore, Lee, Macon, Randolph, Russell, Talladega, and Tallapoosa

District 6 – Autauga, Chilton, Choctaw, Clarke, Dallas, Hale, Lowndes, Marengo, Montgomery, Perry, Sumter, and Wilcox

District 7 – Baldwin, Escambia, Mobile, Monroe, and Washington

District 8 – Barbour, Bullock, Butler, Coffee, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Geneva, Henry, Houston, and Pike

Your District Chairs are:
District 1: Lea Hoppe & Viktoria Truesdail District 2: Karla Hodges & Karen Morgan District 3: Deanna Bell and Kate Donaldson District 4: Kristina Sisko
District 5: Kari McIntosh
District 6: Christy Clark
District 7: Alicia Luttrell & Joylynn Ruffin District 8: Hilda Hagins

We would also like to welcome Erica Lutz to our elementary board. She will be filling the Hospitality Chair for the 2020 and 2021 school years. Feel free to reach out to your district chairs and executive board throughout the year to let us know what is happening in your school and school system. Please keep your email updated with us: elementaryamea@gmail.com. There are many important announcements in our Board Meeting minutes including information about grant opportunities and the upcoming AMEA board elections (Dr. Rob Lyda and Carrie Cruz) and all of the upcoming workshops (AOSA, SHAKE, Young Voices festival, etc). You may also connect with other music educators using our AMEA Elementary and the Alabama Music Educators Association Facebook pages. Remember, the 2020 Elementary Music Festival will be October 16, 2020 at Eastmont Baptist Church. Please tell Melissa McIntyre if you have suggestions for clinicians: AMEAfestival@gmail.com. The 2020 AMEA Joint Workshop will immediately follow on October 17, 2020, also at Eastmont Baptist. Please read those minutes and take advantage of all the opportunities Alabama has to offer its elementary music educators.

Thank you again, for your hard work, dedication and continued support of the Elementary/General Division of the AMEA and the children of Alabama. I can’t wait to see you soon.


Betty R Wilson

President Elementary/General Division