Announcements

From the President

HED: Workshops, clinics, and camps!

Beck Halliday

This year, one goal of the HED has been to foster robust and productive relationships between Alabama’s colleges and universities. These connections can create opportunities for music departments to support each other’s endeavors outside of our annual conference. With this in mind, I would like to use this column to highlight summer events that are offered across the state. These workshops, clinics, and camps show a deep commitment to fostering musical growth and best teaching practices. Below is a list of such events, with dates and contact information.

Alabama State University
• Middle School Music Skills Camp, June 26-29 Dr. Katrina Phillips, krphillips@alasu.edu, www.alasu.edu/msmc

Auburn University
• Percussion and Auxiliary Camps – June 8-10
• High School Symphonic Band Camp – June
10-13
• Marching Leadership Camp – June 19-22
• Middle School Symphonic Band Camp – June
23-25
Joshua Wine, AUSummerBandCamps@gmail.com, http://www.auburn.edu/student_info/auband/event/s ummer_camps/index.htm

Huntingdon College
• Spirit Camp, June 13-17
Eddy Williams, ewilliams@hawks.huntingdon.edu, www.spiritcamp.com
Samford University
• Orff Schulwerk certification levels, June 19-30 Susanne Burgess, sburges1@samford.edu

University of Alabama
University of Alabama Crimson Leadership Institute
• Band Booster Institute, June 11
• Crimson Student Leadership Camp, June 12-13 • Crimson Music Camp – Concert Band (Middle
School and High School), Colorguard and
Majorettes. June 14-17
Randall Coleman, rocoleman@ua.edu
University of Alabama Community Music School
• Adult Strings Weekend, ages 20 +, August 25- 27
• Private Lessons, variable day/times: June & July • Summer String Camp (middle/high school):
June 19- 23, 2017
• Children’s Musical Camp: July 17 – 28, 2017 • Adult Strings Class, Tuesdays, May 30 – June
27
• Kindermusik Classes, variable times: May 30-
June 27
Dr. Jane Weigel, jweigel@music.ua.edu; Dr. Anne Witt, acwitt@ua.edu, www.cms.music.ua.edu

University of Montevall
• Young Musicians’ Camp, June 18-23
Ted Hoffman, ehoffman@montevallo.edu
• Kodály Certification Program, July 10 – 21 Becky Halliday, ahalliday@montevallo.edu
University of Montevallo Community School of Music
• Private instrumental and vocal lessons
Pamela Smith, umcsm@montevallo.edu

University of North Alabama:
• Sounds of Summer Percussion Camp, June 8-9 Tracy Wiggins twiggins@una.edu
• Edsel Holden presents “What a Wonderful
World,” June 11, 2 p.m.
• Marching Band Leadership Symposium, June
18-19
Lloyd Jones lejones@una.edu

University of South Alabama:
• Arts in Education professional development:
Grades K-3: June 12-15, Sept. 9, Oct. 28;
Grades 4-6: June 26-29, Oct. 14, Nov. 11 Jeannette Fresne, jfresne@southalabama.edu

Another goal of the HED has been to support our Collegiate Division, as we have many mutual interests. The Collegiate Summit that is held each fall offers a good opportunity for faculty and students to interact, so please mark your calendar when that date is set. The upcoming statewide implementation of edTPA may pose a challenge for faculty and students alike, and a strong relationship across our divisions should prove valuable as we navigate this new program.

I look forward to seeing you all in Birmingham for the 2018 conference. Remember that the submission deadline for session proposals is June 1. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions, suggestions, or comments.

Thank you for all that you do for music education in Alabama, and have a wonderful summer!